July 14 – 10 AM – Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum – Amway Grand Plaza Hotel

The Presentation of the COL Ralph W. Hauenstein Fellowship and President Ford’s 101st Birthday

The Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation and the Hauenstein Center for Presidential Studies at Grand Valley State University hosted the annual Wreath Laying Ceremony in celebration of President Ford’s 101st Birthday. The 61st Secretary of State, James A. Baker III, was the the William E. Simon Lecturer for the Foundation’s luncheon following the ceremony. Secretary Baker was joined by special guest Susan Ford Bales, daughter of President Gerald R. Ford.

Susan Ford Bales, daughter of President Gerald R. Ford.


The Hauenstein Center presented its highly prestigious 2014 COL Ralph W. Hauenstein Fellowship to Secretary Baker at this event. Previous recipients include Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, President Gerald R. Ford, and National Security Advisor Brent Scowcroft.

From left to right: COL Ralph W. Hauenstein, Former U.S. Secretary of State James A. Baker, Grand Valley State University President Thomas Haas, and Gleaves Whitney, Director of the Hauenstein Center for Presidential Studies at GVSU.


William E. Simon Lecture in Public Affairs

In 1988, President Gerald R. Ford announced the establishment of the William E. Simon Lecture in Public Affairs. The series is endowed by William Simon’s gift to the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Foundation. William Simon served as Secretary of the Treasury during the Nixon and Ford administrations. He established this lecture series stating, “These lectures can make a significant, continuing contribution to public debate on how to preserve and strengthen the institutions of our free society.” In acknowledging William Simon’s gift, President Ford said, “Bill Simon’s generosity makes possible a top quality program, featuring outstanding national figures. Their insight on domestic and international issues will foster better public understanding of today’s critical policy problems.”

Past Simon Lecturers: William Simon (1988); Henry Kissinger (1990); Carlos Salinas de Gortari, President of Mexico; (1993); Alan Greenspan (1996); David McCullough (1999); Michael Beschloss (2001); Lt. Gen. Brent Scowcroft (2006); Roger Wilkins (2006); Richard Norton Smith (2008); David Broder (2008); Justice John Paul Stevens (2011), Lt. General Brent Scowcroft, USAF (Ret.) (2012); Jon Meacham (2013).


Original Event Invitation